Thanks Papa and Pop

Rosemary is for remembrance.

Rosemary is for remembrance

Every year on this day (It’s ANZAC Day here in Australia and New Zealand for my readers further afield) I spend the day being grateful for my two grandfathers as they both served in WW1.

In particular I dwell on my maternal Grandad, Lancelot Boughen Stevens as he was at Gallipoli. It was his experiences there and in the later conflicts of  WW1 that shaped him and as a result his children and thus myself.

What he saw and experienced must’ve been nothing short of horrific-both psychically and physically scarring. I made the mistake of asking him about it when I was too young to know better. I never asked again.

When Papa came home from the war he was severely malnourished and devoted the rest of his life to wellness. The grandson of a medical botanist and son of a wholesale druggist, he bought every book he could find related to health and diet, he grew his own fruit and veg, had a compost pile out the back and saved seeds. He was a firm believer in whole foods and warned everyone against the perils of white sugar (white death) and refined anything.

It is interesting to note that all 4 of his grandchildren have veggie gardens. We all compost, we all have chickens, we all cook (one professionally) we are all (knock on wood) healthy.

Thanks Papa, every day I try to honour your sacrifice and I hope one day us humans will finally grow up and learn to settle differences in a civilised fashion.

Lest we forget.

Categories: Bars & restaurants

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

